Guppyman

Well… At least it\’s not blogger…..

Rambling thoughts on a Wednesday…..

Usually… I’d give my thoughts on American Idol today…. But I skipped it. I watched the Astros play 14 innings instead. From what I’ve read so far… I made the right choice. Sounds like the show was pretty lame last night…. I guess I’ll find out when I watch the much shorter version on the DVR later…. But I will make a guess anyway…. Bottom 3 – Paris, Elliot and (gasp) Kellie. Paris will go home…. Yay! It’s about time!

Anyway… So now what….? I don’t have a huge AI post… What to talk about on a Wednesday…?

Here’s a thought…

Earlier I was thinking about how so much could easily get me down…

My wife just had to have major surgery…
I have to go to work and leave her at the house alone…
Gas prices…
All kinds of political issues…
Money…

There are all kinds of things I could get worked up over and get depressed over or whatever….

But-

I’m not.
I’m thankful.
We were able to get my wife’s problems taken care of before they became too major. There was no cancer… it all went great actually. I’m thankful I have a job to go to. I’m even a little bit thankful for gas prices… All the activity in the oil industry has my company hopping.

All in all- I step back and look at all the little (or major) things that once would have shattered my world and realize that I am so blessed. God is good.

So I’m happy. More often than not I’m happy. It’s very cool… I find myself happy even when I don’t think I should be… When things crash down around me and try to drag me down with them… It doesn’t get me down anymore.

Is that growth? Maybe….

I know that God won’t give me anything more than I can handle… I know He’s got my back no matter what… So… I choose to enjoy what life puts in front of me.

Thank you Lord!

April 26, 2006 - Posted by | Too Lazy To Catagorize

6 Comments »

  1. Great post baby! … God is good indeed 🙂

    Comment by PresentStorm | April 26, 2006 | Reply

  2. AI was actually pretty good. Except Pickler. Ugh.

    God is good indeed. (Not about AI, I mean about real life!)

    Comment by Angie | April 26, 2006 | Reply

  3. Wonderful post. I’m so glad PS is doing okay. Please send her my hugs.

    Comment by MommaK | April 26, 2006 | Reply

  4. Guppy,
    I have always been told that it is your choice, you can wake up in the morning feeling down, depressed, in a bad mood or you can wake up thankful, ready for the day, happy, in a good mood. Sounds like you have chosen well. (Man, that sounds like a line from Star Wars or something.)
    I hope you continue to have a great day.
    Joe B

    Comment by JOE B | April 27, 2006 | Reply

  5. Sounds like your on the right track. It’s good to assess our lives often, and count our blessings. I wish you well with your family and business…and healing for your wife.

    Blessings,

    Shirley

    Comment by shirley buxton | April 27, 2006 | Reply

  6. I loved this post! Both you and stormii rock!

    I wish I had your attitude…. I’ve been completely frustrated and angry lately, but when you look at the big picture…. I have no reason to be. Trying to snap out of it and make that choice to just be happy! It is hard to do when the same frsutrations keep popping up over and over again.

    Kellie went home last night (whoo hoo! she was on my nerves)! I hope Paris is next… Paris had the 2nd lowest number of votes. Chris and Katharine got the top number of votes. I think Elliot did great this week, the venue was perfect for his singing style.

    Comment by Texas_Ivy10 | April 27, 2006 | Reply


Leave a comment