Guppyman

Well… At least it\’s not blogger…..

Public Enemy #1

 Public Enemy #1

I don't know if this is everywhere, but this year seems to be the "Summer of the Mosquito".  We have them everywhere.  It doesn't seem to matter that it's not raining and there is no standing water….  I think these super-mosquitos have figured out how to breed in pools of sunlight.

The other day, I went out to light the bar-b-q.  In the process, I was almost carried away by the little winged devils until I got the thing smoking enough to pacify them for a bit.  Over the weekend was a different story….

I decided to mow on Saturday.  My yard had become some type of jungle and I got tired of using the machete just to figure out where the dogs were when they were out.  I feel that afterwards, I was a giant red bump- they would land in force and cover any area of exposed skin…   I'd swat, I'd curse, Id rub, I'd scratch… mosquitos were exploding all over me… which i think only calls more of them in… they smell the blood on the surface and come for miles to see what the fuss is about…

So after I finished mowing, I drug the bug spray out, hooked it to the hose and sprayed the front…  Great!  I had plenty for that and it actually seemed to help.  But I needed more spray if i would do the back…  no problem, off to Home Depot- I always like excuses to go to Home Depot!

Well…  Apparently i'm not the only guy with blood-sucker problems…  I joined a small group of folks comparing labels and telling horror stories in the chemical aisle… What was left of the chemical aisle at least.  I had to get some stuff to pour into the sprayer i just emptied…  no problem…  The checker told me that every single person all day long that came though his line had some type of mosquito control….  I'm amazed that there is a living creature within 100 miles of here with all the chemicals we must be spraying….

I get home, fill up the old sprayer, turn the hose on… and get a pathetic little dribble from the end…  must be jammed or something…  I screwed with it for a bit and got a half-spray…  I figured i messed up the sprayer somehow so I used it… did the whole backyard- getting eaten the whole time….  When I finished, I looked at the poison bottle… it was just as full as when I started.  Wonderful!  I disected it, and discovered a junebug had crawled in- no poison coming out at all….

I re-sprayed and figured that was that.

I think I must have gotten the wrong stuff.  yesterday, when i opened the back door to let the dogs out, a large black cloud arose from the ground about a foot from my back door…  they came in, they attacked me again… they tormented the dogs…  they blocked out my vision of daylight…

Where did they come from?  Why will they not just die?  Will I have to stay inside for the entire summer?  What happened to the trucks the city used to send out to spray?

If you see a mosqito where you are… please… do me a favor…

Kill it!

Smash it so that it can have no chance to breed!

If you don't… I'm sure somebody in it's lineage will figure out a way to move in right outside my back door… 

 

 

 

June 12, 2006 - Posted by | blood sucking demons

10 Comments »

  1. So, you left Blogger. Can’t blame you.

    Comment by Leon | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  2. I like your new home very much! *s* I haven’t seen many mosquitoes here yet *knock on wood!* but the ticks are everywhere this year!

    Comment by Chi | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  3. Congrats on the new site…

    Now I am jealous..

    I am almost there..

    My search for hosting continues…

    he-he

    If you have any suggestions please feel free to

    share… ^.^

    Comment by Peety | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  4. DEar Guppyman,

    I love your blog. I work for a public radio show, http://www.radioopensource.org. We’d like permission to read one of your blog entries on our show–the entry on June 6, 2006 to be specific. Please email me so that I can elaborate.

    Comment by chelsea merz | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  5. Oh.My.God. The radio thing is for real. I just checked out both sites. You’re linked (although if I were you, I would insist that they go back and re-read it so they understand you didn’t kill it, you repatriated it.)

    Did you ever get around to reading James Joyce’s Ulysses?
    Because obviously when you post about this you’ll have to write “and yes i said yes yes yes”.

    Comment by Mitey Mite | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  6. Wow, so you have moved!!!

    XXOO,
    JTL

    Comment by Jetting Through Life | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  7. Sorry man, I couldn’t kill them all and they migrated west…forgive me?

    Comment by hterry | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  8. Off topiv: Hi thanks gumppy for the support over at my blog on How To Quit Smoking. I truly absorbed on what you’ve said.

    Comment by K | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  9. Guppyman rather. My bad.

    Comment by K | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  10. We are having the same problem in my area of town! I have yet to hear the mosquito truck come by! Bastards! haha

    Comment by Texas_Ivy10 | June 13, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

