Guppyman

Well… At least it\’s not blogger…..

I need help….

I would love to get my own domain and hosting…  I asked my mom for this for my birthday, but apparently I am not communicating the value of having your own space to her….

Her words "What crap"

So I would like to enlist all of you….

 List for me the advantages you see in having your own domain over having freebie blog space.  Let's see if we can convince her that it would be a great birthday present!

June 11, 2006 - Posted by | community, pissed at blogger

7 Comments »

  1. I don’t know what your Blogger blog looked like, but I don’t know how any of you can put up with the way they have been performing. This blog looks good. Like anything, we miss the old way until we see the possibility of the new ones.

    Comment by jan | June 11, 2006 | Reply

  2. Aw she must not be a geek then😛 Look at it this way, when you get your own domain, you wont have to worry about the free services going down, you wont have to keep telling people that you’ve moved your site yet again because the service bites (not that I’m saying wordpress site bites but blogger did) and plus you can have many subdomains so you could put stormii’s site on your own domain as well and she wont have to mess with blogger either. And now that you changed sites all your links you had are down and you essentially have to start over again with the PR rating so your blog will be searchable.

    Comment by hterry | June 11, 2006 | Reply

  3. I’m enjoying watching everyone complain about blogger.🙂 hee hee

    I don’t mean anything by that except it’s just funny. I’m weird that way.

    Hey, Mitey Mite! Come on…do it for your little boy!!! He really really really wants it…pretty please??!!

    Comment by angie | June 11, 2006 | Reply

  4. I don’t suppose it would help any to mention I own a domain, several actually, but i still use Blogger…🙂

    Domains are cheap. Especially at GoDaddy.com…if nothing else, it would be a very INEXPENSIVE birthday present!

    Comment by Thumper | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  5. Oh how I loathe blogger. It seemed they were “experiencing tech difficulties” all week last week. Losers. Die Blogger die!!!!(Said the girl with a Blogger account.)

    Comment by Jenn | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  6. It’s like land. You know you want to own your own land in this world. One day it’ll all be taken and if you don’t have any you’re SOL. I really hope our farm stays in the family for years to come.

    Having your own domain is the same. It’s your land on the internet. You want to have your spot. One day, it won’t be so eay to get a domain…. especially a .com as they’ll all be taken or you’ll have to pay such high dollar for it.

    It’s good to have control and ownership! I have a few domains parked and one that I host.

    Comment by tnchick | June 12, 2006 | Reply

  7. I’m waiting for domains to be up for sale so I can nab them🙂 but tnchick’s right guppy, before long you might not even be able to gett guppyman.net since the .com is already taken.

    Comment by hterry | June 12, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

