Guppyman

Well… At least it\’s not blogger…..

First harvest

Today I decided I was sick of waiting… I chopped my first sunflower head off and brought it in to harvest the seed. I am going to try to make them how I’ve read in quite a few places….

Cover unshelled seeds with salted water. Use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of salt per two quarts of water. Bring to a boil and simmer for two hours. Drain and dry on absorbent paper.

Roast sunflower seeds in a shallow pan at 300 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes or until golden brown, stirring occasionally. After removing from the oven, stir in one teaspoon of melted butter or margarine for every cup of seeds. Cool on an absorbent towel and salt to taste.

Here’s the flower head I brought in:
6-18-05 008

I tried to get a good size comparison kicking… here’s a pic with a penny placed on it:
6-18-05 012

The next dillema was… how do I remove the seeds….? I rounded up some child labor and forced them into picking them out….

6-18-05 014

Unfortunately, this was about as far as their interest held out… I will be pulling the rest out. We’ll let you know how they turn out!

6-18-05 016

June 18, 2005 - Posted by | Too Lazy To Catagorize

18 Comments »

  1. Good luck and let us know how the turned out… here via Michele’s today!

    Comment by TheBisch | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  2. Oooh, fabulous! I think you should submit this to the Carnival of Recipes if they turn out well for you…

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment!

    Comment by songstress7 | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  3. Michele sent me around and what a project I find you embarking upon. Please update and let us know how they turn out. I didn’t know people did this.

    Learn something new every day….

    Comment by -E | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  4. I read the recipe and started salivating…
    Isn’t child labour useful?
    *grinning*

    Mine are filing for me…

    Minerva

    Comment by Minerva | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  5. Hi Guppyman. I’m back via the Michele round-and-round today. I am so fascinated by your sunflower experience, and so happy you’re sharing it here. The pictures alone could be art.

    Comment by Carmi | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  6. How fun! Be sure to let us all know the outcome! 🙂

    Michele didn’t send me. 🙂

    Comment by Angie | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  7. You’ll have to tell us how long it takes you to harvest all those seeds. I bet it will be worth it, though! And loved your pics from yesterday, too.

    Comment by TrueJerseyGirl | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  8. Howdy Guppyman! I harvested mine last year by hanging it upside down(This was a little hard to do..lol) and they all fell out on their own.. (Thats how i read to do it..)I hope yours turns out better than mine did! Good luck.. Your sunflowers ended up way bigger than mine were.. WOW!

    Comment by Ivy | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  9. i’ve never tried harvesting sunflower seeds, i’ve done the pumpkin ones though, can’t wait to hear how they turn out!

    Comment by janie q | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  10. m i love pumpkin seeds …mmmm wish I could find one somewhere ..lol

    Comment by PresentStorm | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  11. Okay, I have *never* done this, but I will venture a guess as to how to remove the seeds: using a wide-toothed comb, drag the surface gently so that the seeds are loosened, and shake. Let me know if you try that, and if it was succesful. What a huge flower!

    Here via Michele!

    Comment by Mellie Helen | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  12. wow this is such a neat thing to do!

    I only planted tomatoes in my garden…no sunflowers 😦

    Comment by Lu | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  13. I’m frightened of your big sunflower head. Hehe… I said, never mind.

    We used to grow them in our backyard when I was a kid. I think I remember my mom just using a nice and shearing them off? Or was that corn on the cob?

    Anyway, have fun with the seeds and yay for cheap child labor! 😉

    Comment by Daisyhead | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  14. Hey I was surfing at blog explosion and seen your banner ..I just had to click on it ..I am glad I did ..You have a very nice place here and a very Hot wife 🙂

    Comment by PresentStorm | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  15. Woot™ Yeah I do have a hot wife…. not sure about the nice place though….

    Comment by Guppyman | June 18, 2005 | Reply

  16. hmm…how bout you send me a sample of the seeds and Ill let you know how they are? hehe…they sound soo good and it looks like youll have enough! by the way im here via michele

    Comment by Kristen | June 19, 2005 | Reply

  17. i’d have to say nice place and VERY HOT WIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    happy father’s day guppyman MUAH!

    Comment by janie q | June 19, 2005 | Reply

  18. I can’t wait to hear how they turn out. That flower is HUGE

    Comment by Melissa | June 19, 2005 | Reply


Leave a Reply

